Rheta Shan R.I.P.

About a month or so ago, I was chatting with Thdast (Thaddy) Schwarzman about her Mistress and lover, Rheta Shan. They’d arranged to meet in SL and Rheta hadn’t showed up. Thaddy was pretty upset and feeling rejected as one does at such times, and as a friend, I did my best to reassure her.

Time went by and last week I asked Thaddy how long it had been. When she answered, I said that I thought it was a bit soon to give up yet, to which she replied that she would never give up waiting. I nodded, it’s a feeling I knew well.

Yesterday came the bombshell. Not one, but two young lives snuffed out. Rheta and her soon to be born child, hit by a van while crossing the road. Death perhaps not instant, but from what I understand, unconsciousness probably was, so any pain was limited. My heart goes out – as so many others have also said – to her family and friends both in RL and in SL, but mostly to Thaddy. I cried in work when I heard yesterday. I can barely conceive what Thdast is going through now – at least her RL friends had a funeral.

So if you see her on the grid, spare a thought for Thdast Schwarzman and say hi. Offer her a hug, but don’t ask how she’s feeling.

I hope there will be a memorial.

Thaddy, we are all here for you and I know you have a new bright shining guardian angel watching over you from Heaven.

Rheta Shan/Valérie M, and her unborn son, died April 3rd 2009. May they rest in peace.

Photograph Self Portrait by Rheta Shan
Photograph Self Portrait by Rheta Shan

2 thoughts on “Rheta Shan R.I.P.”

Comments are closed.