Shamrock has Three Leaves!

Can someone please explain the fake Irishness that infests Second Life around Saint Patrick’s Day? It’s the same every year, and I’m starting to get sick of it, being that I am of Irish decent myself. I can already hear you asking yourselves what I am on about, so let me explain…

I don’t mind people wanting to be Irish, or being part Irish, or even just joining in the fun… but people, get it right, please.

The most common one I see daily this time of year is replacing a shamrock with a four-leaf clover. People, they are NOT the same thing! Ok, the shamrock is a member of the clover family, but it is not meant to be particularly lucky, it’s actually symbolically religious,and a completely different tradition to the lucky clover. It’s an easy mistake to make though, I guess (even Guinness make it)… if you’re a complete imbecile!

And it’s not all about drinks and parties. Have them sure, but remember your roots, please. And try to learn the story, the truth and the myth. Patrick was an early Christian priest, later a bishop. He wasn’t even Irish, but from Britain… but I’ll let you read about the rest.

Just enjoy the day, but let’s keep it real, eh?

One thought on “Shamrock has Three Leaves!”

Comments are closed.