Taking Pride

The first thing I noticed when visiting the Second Pride festival this week was the loneliness of the place. Of course it could be the times I’m around in the world, but not everyone is in America… why is it so deserted? When I arrived for the first time, there were a couple of dots on the map, and I went to see… they were all staff. I admit, I was saddened.

You see, there are some great builds there. The memorial garden for one is a haven of peace, and I think it probably would be even were the chaos of Second Life outside the gates. The museum is definitely worth a visit if only to learn something new about discrimination through the ages. Not a bright, fun museum, but insightful. Somehow makes me glad I wasn’t born 50 years earlier, well for reasons other than I already had.

The funfair looked like er… fun, but that too was empty, as was the dance tent. The rows on rows of booths stand empty. There’s plenty to see, to do, to buy, but it seems, there’s nobody seeing, or doing, or buying. It’s as if the world doesn’t care, and perhaps it doesn’t, in Second Life – it has always seemed that there’s a lot more integration than in the real world. I.e., apart from a few newbies, people don’t really care about your sexual orientation (unless they’re hitting on you, and not always then).

As I write this, an event just started. Myself included, there are a total of thirteen people in the six sims. I wonder how many are genuine visitors, and how many are staff. Perhaps I’ll go take a look.

Edit.
There were six people at the event. Two were officials, the rest seemed mostly unresponsive.

4 thoughts on “Taking Pride”

  1. Hey Siobhan. Funny you should blog about this because I too experienced the same thing the other night. I stopped by to see the Festival and there were four other people not counting me and a security guy. I metioned to him my surprise that hardly no one was there and he said the attendance fluctuates. Maybe your blog well encourage some more people to check it out. {:o)

  2. Hmmm. Add a Slurl here? And same with the SL4B sims here an hour ago. Only one person besides me there on 04 mature. I hope someone will show up for my artist’s talk. :/

Comments are closed.