Mentor Listing denied

I got this gem in my mailbox this morning when I woke up. I had submitted the request in January after taking an enforced break from mentoring. It took this long to respond.

Date: Thu, 24 May 2007 21:59:15 -0700 (PDT)

Dear Siobhan,

We have denied your request for listing in the Mentor Group.
It may be your application is incomplete, or had inappropriate content.

You are welcome to submit a new request for listing. Please review our criteria and make sure your submission content is correctly spelled, complete, appropriate, and gives sufficient evidence of your experience.

Due to the volume of submissions, we are unable to provide you with details or a personalized response to your submission.

Thank you for your interest in a Mentor Directory listing.

There’s history here.

I first joined Second Life’s mentor programme when living in Federal. I remember a few friends coming to my first event to give me encouragement… (thanks, Marilyn, Jellin and others). About the end of the year, I was also in the instructors group, giving classes in building, and later I was in the first group for live help, and a forum resmod.

I dropped out of the resmods as soon as I saw where it was leading. The others, I stayed. After a break from live help (back then a break between ‘shifts’ was required since you couldn’t un-title) I was back in, and stayed.

Through the course of my time in Second Life, many Lindens um, encouraged me to seek employment with the Lab. So, being as I’m so far away, I applied for a Liaison position in summer 2006. In August, just before my 3rd rezday, I was invited to interview, and, about a week later was turned down without explanation.

A few days later, I was told by Jeska that I’d been threatening in Live Help, (she sent me a date and time, but no more – I wasn’t even in channel at the time) and that I was being removed. So, I was no longer a live helper, instructor nor mentor. They refused to elaborate, but told me that after 2 or 3 months, I could re-apply.

I left them plenty of time to clear my record and re-applied. Which leads to today.

Linden Lab claim to be short staffed, and yet they turn down applications from people who probably have more experience in the field than the whole team combined.

Linden Lab claim to want volunteers, still. Perhaps I’m unsuitable. I’ve been around long enough to know what goes on. Or maybe it’s because I’m not afraid to say when I think something is shady. Maybe because I’m a regular at Second Citizen. I’ll never know for sure, they’ll not tell.

Personally, I think they’re just being vindictive. Someone, or maybe several someones at LL are holding a grudge from when they were regular players.

I mean, it’s not like I’m a griefer or anything… am I?

Technorati Tags: ,

One thought on “Mentor Listing denied”

  1. Its all my fault darlin.

    Yer a “Known BBRC”.

    And that’ll get you swift ticket to no um sorry but um we dooon’t want YER KIND up in here.

    ooop

    oh well

    *snurggles*
    -Sio’s Brace

    PS
    I love that whole “make sure your submission was correctly spelled” thinger
    0_0

    puhleez!

    Anyhoo yer a DIVA of the NCI what more could you ask for?
    😉

    (meanwhile back at LL they’re turning down folks like Sio while hiring complete NUTTERS like meta lindie aka Super Calamari

    go figure)

Comments are closed.