R.I.P. Jesse Malthus

I didn’t know Jesse well. Perhaps we’d met in world, I’m not sure, although we did meet in #secondlife.

As was posted in the Second Citizen forums, and by Lordfly in his blog earlier today, Jesse passed away as the result of a car accident. He was only 17, which is far too young to die. My prayers go with him on his new journey into the unknown. And to his family, my deepest sympathy for their loss.

Coming so quickly on the back of the loss of Feliciaa Feaver, this strikes the community hard. As Aimee commented, for those of us here so long, seeing other Second Lifers we knew pass away was bound to happen eventually, but that doesn’t make it easy, and two people in a month seems devastating to me. Any of us could be next, at any time.

It’s times like these that really make me think about life and my place in the world. The things I’ve done right, and the things I’ve done wrong. The people I’ve helped, and the people I’ve hurt. If I died today, how would I be remembered? Indeed, apart from close family and friends, would I even be remembered?

We live in a world filled with tragedy, as we are reminded daily in the news. There is great beauty and joy in this world too, and we should make the most of it while we are still able.

“The light that burns twice as bright burns half as long – and you have burned so very, very brightly.”

One thought on “R.I.P. Jesse Malthus”

Comments are closed.