Alts and missing images

So they say it’s been fixed, but as of today, many textures are still MIA. I spent some time in the Welcome area in Ahern/Morris this morning (in disguise), and saw the problem is even more prevalent than it has been in a long time. I assume then that by “fixed”, Linden Lab means that it will now happen, if not all the time, then at least more frequently. To be honest, I prefered it when it didn’t work and I saw actual textures instead.

I know, I know, we’re post-patch and the asshat server is still in recovery mode, but this is a problem I thought gone with 1.4 or 1.5, long ago. Of course, they’ve also increased out max bandwidth from 1k to 1.5k… although they reset the default to 0.5k, which means you don’t actually benefit from it, and they tell you that increasing it is bad!

Anyway, back at home now… well, Eloise’s place, where we’ve been colaborating on some builds, and no immediate issues. It was a little funny though… I appeared, changed my outfit and let it rez. Someone appeared on the horizon and approached. He said “hi”, I said “hello”, and Eloise, kneeling on the ground naked nearby said “Hi Sir”. Our visitor took one look, said “Er, I best be going” and flew off… as Eloise said: “Because naked, kneeling girls are so scary”.

We then spent some time griping about LLs support, or lack thereof.

It is crazy though. Prims are changing their permissions randomly. Suddenly I can’t modify an item I had just been editing. I can’t even read the details from the object tab in order to make a quick replacement! Mostly, it’s items made by someone and transferred with full perms, but occasionally it’s one I’ve made from scratch too. There’s seriously something weird going on.

I hope LL work it out soon. I have stuff to make.