Maybe I’m cursed…

… but I seem to be the unluckiest person in the universe.

Those closest to me know about my glorious fortun in Eve already, so I won’t go into that. But now it seems to be spreading to Second Life too.

Yesterday, was my 3rd rezday in SL. Should have been great, and a lot of it was. Had a party in Zazi among the stones. We were having a wonderful time.

Then some guy, I don’t know his name started building above us. Freya noticed first and said she’d asked him to stop but he ignored her. So, I turned on the land auto-return. It didn’t appear to work. His stuff remained (though I was able to manually remove most of it later), but… It was the cries of “WTF?” that alerted me first. Stonehenge was gone, our build platform was gone, our house, gone, Freya’s gallery… yeah, you guessed it… gone.

So, Auto return removed the stuff belonging to the land owners, but left the stuff belonging to a stranger. I spent an hour or so trying to get LL to roll back the sim, but… “Request Denied”… not their problem. I shouldn’t really be surprised at that, I suppose, given their record on “Content”.

Freya, understandably, got mad, and logged off. I’ve not been able to contact her since, and since she’s out all day, I won’t be able to now until tonight at the earliest.

I can, and will rebuild as much as possible, of course, but it won’t be the same. It never is. I just hope Freya will forgive me.

Freya love, I am so sorry. I just don’t know what more to say at this point other than I promise to try to fix it.

3 thoughts on “Maybe I’m cursed…”

  1. Hi Siobhan. I had a similar thing happen to me. I had spent weeks building and finishing a sky garden with a house and tower, and then – I still don’t know what I did – somehow pressed the wrong button, and got most of it returned to my inventory. Fortunately what was left on the ground was more or less ok (apart from isolated objects, like a spiral staircase, which disappeared).

    Rebuilding was like putting together a gigantic 3D jigsaw puzzle, and to be honest I couldn’t be bothered. I got it more-or-less together and then left it as it was.

    To lose builds like this is very discouraging, and it’s a shame that at times it appears to be so easy.

  2. Thanks, the problem was that it wasn’t my build… well, not all mine at least. Freya had completely retextured the stones, and they looked a hell of a lot better. The backup copy I had was the old untextured one.

    It also hit a few of Freya’s solo builds in the area too.

    If I’d destroyed just my work, sure it’d be bad… but it wasn’t just my work.

Comments are closed.