Gratitude in Second Life

I woke up this morning wanting to write something. I don’t know why today particularly as opposed to any other day, but well, that’s life I suppose.

As it turned out, my email provided me with an answer as they almost always do. It was from one Gregor Eldritch, an avatar who I’ve not yet had the pleasure of meeting. I’m sure he won’t mind me quoting him, so here goes:

Thank you for donating to the money tree. It’s hard starting out and being able to pick up a few L$ here and there helps a lot! 🙂

It’s things like this that make it all worthwhile you know, when people actually take the time to say “Thank you”. It means more than a hundred ratings.

I think back to when being a Mentor in Second Life™ was seen as a good thing. (I’ve been a Mentor over a year now, you see.) We used to get more people at Mentor events at Stage 4 and the like, and people would actually thank us for our time. It still happens occasionally, and it brings a tear to my eye, but things are different. I spent two months doing Live Help recently, and while the occasional user would say thanks, and some even asked for teleport invites to give ratings (I never accepted), the majority of feedback was in the form of angry forum posts calling Live Help useless because they couldn’t fix this or that bug, or check account details, never once considering that since we’re only players (though usually more experienced players) we don’t have access to any of that. It makes it all the nicer when someone does come back and appreciate what you’ve done, or tried to do.

So, it’s been another good day for me, after Saturday’s un-goodness. It’s a shame it’s been bad for other people. Cristiano Midnight has had trouble with prisms and customer support, Merwan Marker has been ousted from Second Life™ Exchange, Torley’s been attacked, not only on the forums but on his private log. What is it with the world today? I wish people could be nice to one another.